2020 Aussie Millions

A$100,000 Challenge
Jours 2
Event Info

2020 Aussie Millions

Main Gagnante
1,746,360 AUD
Event Info
100,000 AUD
Info Niveau
50,000 / 100,000

A$100,000 Challenge

Jour 2 a débuté

2020 Aussie Millions A$100K Challenge Champion To Emerge Today

Aaron van Blarcum
Aaron van Blarcum

The A$100K Challenge has seen 40 bullets fired in the largest buy-in tournament on the 2020 Aussie Millions schedule, and the contest will continue with at least 21 players pursuing their quest for the title. Late registration remains open through the first hour of play on Day 2, and the total prize pool might still increase by a few shells. The action resumes at 12:10 p.m. local time.

With a lot of dead money⁠ in the pool — as half of the entries were met with elimination on Day 1 ⁠— joining or rejoining the field may be an attractive prospect to consider. Nothing easy awaits the late entrants, though, with the 250,000 worth just north of 20 big blinds: the play commences at 6,000/12,000/12,000.

Then there is, of course, the tough competition around, something unavoidable in tournaments of such magnitude. Alex Foxen has the chip lead, sitting comfortably on 853,500. Stephen Chidwick lies in third. Seth Davies follows in fourth. Those players are all sharpened by their participation in dozens, maybe hundreds, of events of these proportions.

Aaron van Blarcum, who's currently second with 824,500, may not be a household name yet, but, in the last few months, he's been doing everything in his power to become one. Van Blarcum joined the high stakes scene late in 2019 and has already notched some respectable results in Las Vegas.

Reigning champion Cary Katz is also among those 21 who found their way through the rocky stages of Day 1. Katz turned his first entry into 419,000, which puts him in the bottom half of the standings. But he's well known for his patience and he should be just fine with 35 big blinds.

Moreover, Katz is defending his title fresh on the back of his successful campaign in the A$50K Challenge which saw him earn A$715,860 for a runner-up finish. Only Michael Addamo was able to deny Katz, taking home a seven-figure payday.

Addamo has been trying hard to win his second super high roller within a week. So far, it hasn't been an easy ride for the Australian star who won the Young Achiever Award only a few days ago here at Crown Melbourne. Addamo is just behind Katz with 406,000, but he needed three attempts to advance.

With the field loaded by experienced and well-versed players, it is safe to expect thrilling encounters from the world's poker elite. Day 2 kicks off at 12:10 p.m. local time and PokerNews will provide live updates until the champion is crowned.

Additionally, a cards-up broadcast will be available at 12:40 p.m. on Twitch and PokerGO, provided by the Run It Up TV (subject to a 30-minute security delay).

YearWinnerCountryFirst PrizeEntriesTotal Prize Pool
2006John JuandaIndonesiaA$1,000,00010A$1,000,000
2007Erick LindgrenUnited StatesA$1,000,00018A$1,800,000
2008Howard LedererUnited StatesA$1,250,00025A$2,500,000
2009David SteickeAustraliaA$1,200,00023A$2,300,000
2010Daniel ShakUnited StatesA$1,200,00024A$2,400,000
2011Sam TrickettUnited KingdomA$1,525,00038A$3,800,000
2012Dan SmithUnited StatesA$1,012,00022A$2,200,000
2013Andrew RoblUnited StatesA$1,000,00022A$2,200,000
2014Yevgeniy TimoshenkoUkraineA$2,000,00047A$7,486,000
2015Richard YongMalaysiaA$1,870,00070A$6,860,000
2016Fabian QuossGermanyA$1,446,48041A$4,018,000
2017Nick PetrangeloUnited StatesA$882,00018A$1,764,000
2018Michael LimMalaysiaA$931,00019A$1,862,000
2019Cary KatzUnited StatesA$1,481,76042A$4,116,000

Tags: Aaron Van BlarcumAlex FoxenCary KatzMichael AddamoSeth DaviesStephen Chidwick

Day 2 Seat Draw

The updates will be posted with a 30-minute delay, synchronized with the streaming from the feature table.

81Orpen Kisacikoglu52,000
82Alex Foxen853,500
83Seth Davies646,500
84Aaron van Blarcum824,500
85Shan Huang471,000
86Stephen Chidwick745,000
87Peter Jetten238,500
88Kahle Burns545,000
91Tsugunari Toma435,000
92Timothy Adams505,000
93Michael Zhang347,500
94Matthias Eibinger250,000
95Mike Watson388,000
96Jorryt van Hoof130,500
97Bryn Kenney584,000
98Cary Katz419,000
102Dan Smith519,000
103George Wolff138,000
104Junichi Nakanowatari632,000
105Mikita Badziakouski250,000
106Sam Grafton635,500
107Michael Soyza484,000
108Michael Addamo406,000

Badziakouski and Eibinger Rejoin

Mikita Badziakouski and Matthias Eibinger, who both played yesterday but failed to advance, have arrived to rejoin the field straight from the first hand on Day 2. Table 7 was broken before the start of play to fill in the other three tables, and the seat draw has been adjusted accordingly.

Niveau: 10

Blinds: 6,000/12,000

Ante: 12,000

Soyza Doubles Through Nakanowatari

Niveau 10 : 6,000/12,000, 12,000 ante

On a flop of {10-Diamonds}{2-Diamonds}{k-Hearts}, Michael Soyza got all in from the big blind for 422,000 against Junichi Nakanowatari in the cutoff. Soyza had been dominated preflop with {k-Spades}{10-Hearts} but got a dream flop against the {a-Diamonds}{k-Clubs} of Nakanowatari. The board ran out {4-Spades}, {2-Spades}, and Soyza doubled big.

Joueur Jetons Progression
Michael Soyza my
Michael Soyza
880,000 396,000
Junichi Nakanowatari jp
Junichi Nakanowatari
150,000 -482,000

Tags: Junichi NakanowatariMichael Soyza