AU$10,600 Main Event

Record d'affluence pour les Aussie Millions, 3 Français au Jour 3

zedmaster84 • Niveau 12: 1,000-2,000, 300 ante
Pim De Goede

Before the cards for Day 2 of the 2019 Aussie Millions Main Event went in the air, a new record attendance was in sight as 797 players had entered the A$ 10,600 flagship event at the Crown Casino in Melbourne throughout the three starting days At least 405 hopefuls returned to the poker room of the biggest casino complex in the Southern Hemisphere and the registration for the flagship event of the record-setting festival remained open for the first 90-minute level.

Thanks to 25 new entries on Day 2, the field size increased to 822 entries in total and a new record was set once more with a total prize pool of A$ 8,220,000 up for grabs. Only the top 88 spots will get paid at least A$ 15,600 while the winner of the record-setting 2019 Aussie Millions Main Event can look forward to a payday of A$ 1,850,000.

More than half of the remaining field will leave empty-handed when the race to the money will get underway on Day 3 and best-positioned after the 12th level of play is Dutchman Pim De Goede. He may not be well-known yet on the live circuit yet, but has recently scored one of the biggest paydays in the history of online poker. De Goede won a tight race for the overnight chip lead and bagged up 413,000. He is closely followed by Bjorn Ostby (386,300) and Ben Lai (378,000). Further big names in the top 10 include David Yan (363.300), Michael Soyza (317,100), Minh Nguyen (315,700) and Maxi Lehmanski (314,000).

Some of Australia's finest also remains in the hunt for the title on home soil such as Michael Egan (292,800), Michael Addamo (279,300), Corey Kempson (238,800), Matthew Wakeman (217,700), Rory Young (210,000) and Jackie Glazier (149,900). The sole remaining former Aussie Millions Main Event champion is Tyron Krost with 122,700, whereas defending champion Toby Lewis and David Gorr were eliminated on Day 2.

Before the action of the day got underway, Joe Hachem awarded the Australian Poker Young Achiever award to Alex Lynskey followed by the induction of Jonathan Karamalikis into the Australian Poker Hall of Fame. Karamalikis is the youngest player to achieve this. While Karamalikis had already been eliminated on Day 1c, Lynskey remained in contention and bowed out just before bagging and tagging after losing almost all of his chips with queens to kings in the final level of the night.

Jonathan Karamalikis
Jonathan \"Monster Dong\" Karamalikis inducted into Australian Poker Hall of Fame

Throughout the five 90-minute levels on the moving day of the tournament, plenty of notables fell short in their bid to claim a stack for the expected money bubble on Day 3 and that also included Toby Lewis. After running hot in the High Roller events of the current year with a victory and runner-up finish, the Brit was unable to defend his Main Event title. Australian Poker Hall of Fame members Jason Gray and Mel Judah were also among the plentiful casualties, as were big names such as Scott Davies, Benny Glaser, Maria Ho, Rainer Kempe, Tom Alner, Dzmitry Urbanovich, and Maria Lampropulos.

Fewer than 170 players bagged up chips and they will return to the poker room at Crown Casino on Thursday, January 31, as of 12:30 p.m. (AEDT) for Day 3. The action recommences in level 13 with blinds of 1,200/2,400 and a running ante of 400. Another seven 90-minute levels are scheduled and the money bubble is expected to burst.

You can follow all the action right here on PokerNews, the one-stop-shop for all updates from the 2019 Aussie Millions.

Tags: Alex LynskeyAussie MillionsBen LaiBenny GlaserBjorn OstbyCorey KempsonDavid GorrDavid YanDzmitry UrbanovichJackie GlazierJason GrayJoe HachemJonathan KaramalikisMaria HoMaria LampropulosMatthew WakemanMaxi LehmanskiMel JudahMichael AddamoMichael EganMichael SoyzaMinh NguyenPim de GoedeRainer KempeRory YoungScott DaviesToby LewisTom AlnerTyron Krost