2018 Winamax SISMIX

Main Event
Jours 2
Event Info

2018 Winamax SISMIX

Main Gagnante
1,000,000 MAD
Event Info
6,000 MAD
Info Niveau
150,000 / 300,000

Winamax Team Pro Adrian Mateos Eyes Final Table With 17 Left; Pinho Leads

Niveau 26 : 40,000/80,000, 10,000 ante
Adrian Mateos
Adrian Mateos

After just under 12 exciting levels of play, there are just 17 players remaining in the 2018 Winamax SISMIX Main Event, including Winamax Team Pro Adrian Mateos.

Mateos says that at his worst point on Day 2 he had an average stack, not a bad place to be on a day where the money bubble burst.

"All the way through I had a pretty decent stack," he said. "I played a couple of big pots, but not too many. Just lots of small pots, and winning a lot of small pots."

The Spaniard is best known for his trio of WSOP bracelets, with his first coming at the 2013 WSOPE. He followed that up with two more bracelets and an EPT Grand Final title. Nowadays he's more often seen in HIgh Roller tournaments, but he jumped in the Winamax SISMIX Main Event nonetheless.

"I usually play more High Rollers, mainly because I think I'm a winner in these tournaments," he explained, "But I always say, I love to play Main Events. They're a big challenge because normally in High Rollers we all know each other and how we play, but playing in Main Events you get to play with new people all the time, which for me is pretty fun."

Joining Mateos on the final day of the SISMIX Main Event is fellow Winamax Team Pro Sylvain Loosli. Mateos says that people will just have to wait and see how the pair get on on the final day.

"It's something really difficult to win a big tournament with a lot of players. Over 1,000 entries makes it hard to win. There's still a lot of hands to win and work to do. I have a good stack and I have a good chance to make the final table. I have to play good, run good and try to win.

"Winamax has some good Team Pros, and all of us are good players. That means we have a chance to win the tournament."

The chip lead bounced around from player to player towards the end of the night, but in the end, it was two Portuguese players who emerged with the big stacks. Henrique Pinho had been towards the top of the chip counts for most of the day, battling with Mateos at times, but Miguel Tavares and Kamel Atoui emerged towards the end of the night after a series of eliminations to be a serious contender heading into the final day's play.

The day started with 253 players with only 155 of them guaranteed money. The bubble burst when Steve Mansouri and Matej Zavacky were sent to the rail in quick succession, guaranteeing the remaining players 12,000 MAD (€1,073). There was also the matter of which of the two bubble boys would receive the ticket to next year's SISMIX Main Event, with Mansouri's flush beat Zavacky's pair of fours to secure him the consolation prize.

Among the players finishing in the money were Alexandre Reard (128th - 12,000 MAD), Day 1c chip leader and Winamax Team Pro Pierre Calamusa (121st - 12,500 MAD), Samir Beldjoudi (115th - 12,500 MAD), Day 1b chip leader Jean Chenonier (95th - 14,200 MAD), Cheng-Wei Yin (93rd - 14,200 MAD), Fadhil Farag (77th - 15,200 MAD), Aurelie Reard (71st - 16,500 MAD), Day 1a chip leader Mantas Petrauskas (63rd - 16,500 MAD), and Paul-Francois Tedeschi (30th - 32,000 MAD).

Here are the remaining payouts in the Main Event

PositionPayout (MAD)Payout (EUR)Payout (USD)
1د.م.‏ 1,000,00089,453 €$106,849
2د.م.‏ 730,00065,301 €$78,000
3د.م.‏ 510,00045,621 €$54,493
4د.م.‏ 360,00032,203 €$38,466
5د.م.‏ 265,00023,705 €$28,315
6د.م.‏ 195,00017,443 €$20,836
7د.م.‏ 150,00013,418 €$16,027
8-9د.م.‏ 115,00010,287 €$12,288
10-11د.م.‏ 90,0008,051 €$9,616
12-14د.م.‏ 71,0006,351 €$7,586
15-17د.م.‏ 57,0005,099 €$6,090

The Winamax SISMIX Main Event resumes at 1 pm local time on Sunday 13th May at the Casino de Marrakech at the Es Saadi Resort. Stay tuned to PokerNews.com as we play down to a winner.

Tags: Adrian MateosAlexander ReardAurelie ReardCheng-Wei YinFadhil FaragJean ChenonierMantas PetrauskasPaul TedeschiPaul-Francois TedeschiPierre CalamusaSamir BeldjoudiSylvain Loosli